the nonsensical musings of a clueless twenty something

An I For an I & Other Trade-Ups


Words of Wisdomly Things

Words of Wisdomly Things

When I was a little girl, I was dead-set on becoming the next Celine Dion. Or Mariah. Or Whitney (sans all of the marital issues and substance abuse nonsense).

Real talk.

I had this sweet little soprano voice that I exercised regularly in the church choir…but, my dear friends, the vocal register required to belt a Dion song is something I was definitely birthed without.

Regardless, though, I made my Mom pay for the training and I showed up religiously.

Not only did I show up religiously, I practiced religiously (much to the dismay of many passerby).

I was fairly certain that if I could sing louder, that what people were hearing would be better. And so I did.

I sang louder. And louder. And louder.

Well, as is the case in many things life-related, this fun assumption about the probable increase of talent in the way of my vocal chords was false.

I was just…loud. And off-key (I’m sure).

Eventually, and much due to my own self-deprecation, my grand dreams of stardom fizzled out completely. But, since, I’ve grabbed hold of and squeezed the life out of other numerous fantastical fantasies.

For a long while I wanted to be any number of things. A gymnast. A soccer player. A multi-linguist. A dancer. A pianist. A knitter. A dog trainer. A guitarist. World Traveler. A horseback rider. A potter (this one still sticks unobtrusively around). If there’s a hat for it, I’ve tried desperately to place it on my head and smuggle it from the world of possibility and into the realm of reality.

Those fun ideas always got there (I’m a really good smuggler). But very few of them ever fit there.

There are people in my life who will tell you that I thrive on internal commotion. I don’t do extremely well when life is quiet and stagnant. In my own mind, everything is so much sweeter when there’s exploring to be done…and growth to be had.

And, really, I don’t feel as though this is a bad thing (some disagree (some can keep it to themselves, too)).

There is never any harm in trying something (street drugs, maybe).

Trying is, after all, how I ended up with a blog.

And, as it turns out, I sort of like it (a lot).

Now is as good a time as any to mention that a new blog-front will be rolling out come June.

It will be co-produced (is that even the right word?) by a dear friend of mine.

There will be adventures. There will be exploring.

There will be video footage.

And, above all, there will be happiness.

Probably an annoying amount of it.

I hope all of you lovelies will come along for the adventure.

In closing, I leave you this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qR3rK0kZFkg

I would like to be just like her when I grow up (add it to the list).

This entry was published on May 22, 2012 at 7:34 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

